Wednesday, 17 August 2016

Call for papers: Deadline Extended: WOLFHPC 2016 (International Workshop on Domain-Specific Languages and High-Level Frameworks for High Performance Computing)

[Apologies if you got multiple copies of this email. This message is
sent to . If you'd like to opt out of these
announcements, information on how to unsubscribe is available at the
bottom of this email.]
           ---Deadline extended to 30 Aug, 2016---

                        CALL FOR PAPERS


                 Sixth International Workshop on
       Domain-Specific Languages and High-Level Frameworks
                 for High Performance Computing

                     In conjunction with the
      SC16: The International Conference on High Performance
            Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis

                  in cooperation with ACM SIGHPC

             November 13th, 2016, Salt Lake City, Utah



Multi-level heterogeneous parallelism and deep memory hierarchies in
current and emerging computer systems make their programming for
high-performance applications very difficult. The task is made more
challenging by the changing landscape of system architecture mandated
by power and micro-architecture considerations. Domain-specific
languages (DSLs) and high-level frameworks (HLFs) provide convenient
abstractions, shielding application developers from much of the
complexity and variability of explicitly programming in standard
programming languages like C/C++/Fortran. Effective design of such
abstractions for the high-performance computing context requires close
interaction between researchers developing such languages and
frameworks and domain experts with a deep understanding of the problem
to be solved.

While a number of other venues exist that address domain-specific
languages and high-level programming abstractions, none of them focus
on the challenges to performance optimization and implementation on
parallel systems. This workshop seeks to bring together developers and
users of DSLs and HLFs to identify challenges and discuss solution
approaches for their effective implementation and use on a variety of
platforms, including massively parallel systems.

We solicit submissions on all aspects relating to domain-specific
languages and high-level frameworks for the HPC context, including,
but not limited to, the design, implementation, evaluation, or use of:

* Application frameworks
* Domain-specific languages and libraries
* High-level data structures
* High-level aspects of programming languages
* Directive-based optimization approaches


Submissions should be two or more pages in pdf format but less than 10
pages (all inclusive) and follow ACM conference formatting
guidelines. In addition to new ideas, experience stories, challenges
faced, and overview of prior work are encouraged.

At least one of the authors of each accepted submission is expected to
attend and present at the workshop. The final manuscripts of papers
will be archived in co-operation with ACM SIGHPC.

Submissions can be made online at:


  Submission deadline : 15 Aug 2016
  Author notification : 15 Sep 2016
  Final papers due    :  7 Oct 2016
  WOLFHPC workshop    : 13 Nov 2016


Sriram Krishnamoorthy, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
J. (Ram) Ramanujam, Louisiana State University
P. (Saday) Sadayappan, The Ohio State University


Gagan Agrawal, The Ohio State University
Muthu Baskaran, Reservoir Labs
Anthony Danalis, University of Tennessee Knoxville
James Dinan, Intel
Anshu Dubey, Argonne National Lab
John Feo, Pacific Northwest National Lab
Franz Franchetti, Carnegie Mellon University
David Ham, Imperial College London
Mike Heroux, Sandia National Lab
Paul H.J. Kelly, Imperial College London
Rishi Khan, Extreme Scale Solutions
Christian Lengauer, University of Passau
Wenjing Ma, Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Kamesh Madduri, Penn State University
Pat McCormick, Los Alamos National Lab
Antoniu Pop, University of Manchester
Istvan Reguly, Oxford e-Research Centre
Bin Ren, Pacific Northwest National Lab
Manu Shantharam, SDSC
Xipeng Shen, NC State
Michelle Strout, Arizona State University
Kenjiro Taura, University of Tokyo
Yonghong Yan, Oakland University


Please contact the program chairs at:


  If you do not remember your password (which is needed to change these options), you can reset it using the "Unsubscribe or Edit Options" button at the bottom of the page.