Friday, 7 October 2016

ACM HPDC'17 - Call for Paperse

[Apologies if you got multiple copies of this email. This message is
sent to . If you'd like to opt out of these
announcements, information on how to unsubscribe is available at the
bottom of this email.]
                       **** CALL FOR PAPERS ****

                The 26th International ACM Symposium on
          High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing
           Washington D.C., United States - June 26-30, 2017

                        Sponsored by ACM SIGARCH

The ACM International Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing (HPDC) is the premier annual conference for presenting the latest research on the design, implementation, evaluation, and the use of parallel and distributed systems for high-end computing.

The 26th HPDC will take place in Washington DC on June 26-30, 2017 (workshops on June 26th and 27th, main conference on June 28th-30th.). Washington DC, the center of a metropolitan area (population 6,097,684) extending into Maryland and Virginia,  is the legislative, administrative, and judicial center of the United States.. The city is also a major tourist attraction and a cultural center, home of the National Gallery and the Smithsonian Institute.

Abstracts (required) due:  January 10, 2017
Full Papers due:           January 17, 2017 (no extensions)
Author notifications:      March 29th, 2017
Camera Ready:              April 12th, 2017
Conference:                June 26~30, 2017

Submissions are welcomed on high-performance parallel and distributed computing (HPDC) topics including but not limited to: clouds, clusters, grids, big data, massively multicore, and extreme-scale computing systems. Submissions that focus on the operating systems, runtime environments, architectures, and networks of high end computing systems are particularly encouraged. Experience reports of operational deployments that provide significantly novel insights for future research on HPDC applications and systems will also receive special consideration. All papers will be evaluated for their originality, technical depth and correctness, potential impact, relevance to the conference, and quality of presentation. Research papers must clearly demonstrate research contributions and novelty, while experience reports must clearly describe lessons learned and demonstrate impact.
In the context of high-performance parallel and distributed computing, the topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

•       Operating systems, networks, and architectures
•       High performance runtime environments
•       Massively multicore systems, including heterogeneous systems
•       Datacenter technology, resource virtualization
•       Programming languages, APIs, and system interoperation approaches
•       File and storage systems, I/O, and data management
•       Big data stacks and big data ecosystems
•       Resource management and scheduling, including energy-aware techniques
•       Performance modeling, analysis, and engineering
•       Fault tolerance, reliability, and availability
•       Operational guarantees, and risk assessment and management
•       Traditional and emerging applications and services that depend upon high- end computing


Authors are invited to submit technical papers of at most 12 pages in PDF format, including figures and references. Papers should be formatted in the ACM Proceedings Style and submitted via the conference web site. Accepted papers will appear in the conference proceedings, and will be incorporated into the ACM Digital Library. A limited number of papers will be accepted as posters.

Papers must be self-contained and provide the technical substance required for the program committee to evaluate their contributions. Submitted papers must be original work that has not appeared in and is not under consideration for another conference or a journal. See the ACM Prior Publication Policy for more details. Papers can be submitted at

Howie Huang,     George Washington University, USA
Jon Weissman,    University of Minnesota, USA

**** HPDC'17 Technical PROGRAM CO-CHAIRS ****
Adriana Iamnitchi, University of South Florida, USA
Alexandru Iosup,   TU Delft and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Rich Wolski,          University of California at Santa Barbara, USA
Ana Lucia Varbanescu, University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Radu Prodan,          University of Innsbruck, Austria

Shuaiwen Leon Song,   Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
Torsten Hoefler,      Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, Switzerland
Kenjiro Taura,        The University of Tokyo, Japan

Dean Hildebrand,      IBM Almaden Research Center

Patrick Bridges,      University of New Mexico, USA

**** HPDC'17 WEBMASTER ****
Zach Leidall,         University of Minnesota, USA

**** Program Committee (As of September 26th) ****
Sameer Al-Kiswany,    University of Waterloo, Canada
Gabriel Antoniu,      INRIA, Rennes, France
Henri Bal,            Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Michela Becchi,       University of Missouri, USA
Patrick Bridges,      University of New Mexico, USA
Ali Butt,             Virginia Tech, USA
Franck Cappello,      Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Abhishek Chandra,     University of Minnesota, USA
Andrew A. Chien,      University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Frederic Desprez,     INRIA, France
Peter Dinda,          Northwestern University, USA
Dick Epema,           Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
Gilles Fedak,         INRIA/ENS Lyon, France
Renato Figueiredo,    University of Florida, USA
Liana Fong,           IBM, USA
Haryadi Gunawi,       University of Chicago, USA
Salim Hariri,         University of Arizona, USA
David Irwin,          University of Massachusetts at Amherst, USA
John (Jack) Lange,    University of Pittsburgh, USA
Adrien Lebre,         French Institute for Research in Computer Science, France
Jay Lofstead,         Sandia National Laboratories, USA
Arthur Maccabe,       Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Satoshi Matsuoka,     Tokyo Inst. Technology, Japan
Alberto Montresor,    University of Trento, Italy
Christine Morin,      INRIA, France
Radu Prodan,          University of Innsbruck, Austria
Matei Ripeanu,        University of British Columbia, Canada
Martin Schulz,        Lawrence Livermore National Lab, USA
Yogesh Simmhan,       Indian Institute of Science, India
Evgenia Smirni,       College of William and Mary, USA
Shuaiwen Leon Song,   Pacific Northwest National Lab, USA
Michela Taufer,       University of Delaware, USA
Kenjiro Taura,        The University of Tokyo, Japan
Douglas Thain,        University of Notre Dame, USA
Ana Lucia Varbanescu, University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Rich Wolski,          University of California at Santa Barbara, USA
Ming Zhao,            Arizona State University, USA

**** Steering Committee ****
Franck Cappello,      Argonne National Lab, USA and INRIA, France
Peter Dinda,          Northwestern University
Salim Hariri,         University of Arizona
Dean Hildebrand,      IBM Research Almaden
Jack Lange,           University of Pittsburgh
Arthur Maccabe,       Oak Ridge National Lab
Manish Parashar,      Rutgers University
Kenjiro Taura,        The University of Tokyo, Japan
Michela Taufer,       University of Delaware
Douglas Thain,        University of Notre Dame
Jon Weissman,         University of Minnesota (Chair)
Dongyan Xu,           Purdue University

  If you do not remember your password (which is needed to change these options), you can reset it using the "Unsubscribe or Edit Options" button at the bottom of the page.